he came! Dr. Luyang, CEO of Future Robot, is a guest at the 2019 World Robot Conference Media Live Room

2019-08-22 18:00:00   Editor in charge:     0


On August 22, 2019, Dr. Luyang Li, co-founder and CEO of Future Robot, was invited to be a guest at Baidu x China Science and Technology Network Media Live Room. In an exclusive interview with the reporter, the young robot head of future robots talked about the universality and ease of use of industrial driverless technology, machine autonomous learning, the application of visual navigation technology, the market prospect of unmanned upgrades and cross The subject answered the meaning of the robot industry one by one, saying that "the unmanned transformation of industrial vehicles is a very urgent market in need". 

 



The following is the interview record:



Reporter: You can say hello to everyone.


Li Luyang: Hello everyone, I am Li Luyang of the future robot. Future Robot was established in Shenzhen in 2016. It is a key supporting enterprise in Shenzhen, including Yantian District. The company's core business is unmanned platforms for industrial vehicles. Therefore, our core is to carry out unmanned transformation on the customer's site, such as forklifts, tractors, including HAECO, through vision technology, and ultimately reduce human efficiency.


 


Reporter: Can you talk about how to transform it specifically?


Li Luyang: The core of the future robot is two points. First, we can rebuild the old (industrial) vehicles on the customer's site, so in fact, we are more not providing vehicles, but implementing artificial forklifts on the customer's site to achieve unmanned transformation. Second, our core technology is vision (navigation). Our team has been developing core technology since 2011. The main work is to combine vision (technology) with robot movement. As the name implies, it uses vision to control the robot's perception and navigation. Ultimately achieve driverless. Simply put, we can complete unmanned transformation and upgrade by providing vision for old vehicles.


 


Reporter: What are the technical difficulties in unmanned transformation?


Li Luyang: There are two core points. The first point is versatility, that is, how to enable vision to complete the signal input or information input of the bottom control of the robot, and finally realize the unmanned transformation of different types of vehicles. The more vehicles that can be transformed, the greater the breadth of the market. The second point is ease of use. How long can our vehicle reach the customer's site to complete the commissioning, can the customer complete the commissioning themselves, or can the customer take part of the maintenance work? It's ease of use. The universal type is related to the visual control of the car, and the ease of use is related to the perception of the car.


 


Reporter: How versatile is our technology today?


Li Luyang: We can now transform more than 180 manual forklifts and tractors of six major brands, basically covering all electric and partially internal combustion models on the market. Li Luyang: At present, our technology is mainly applied in two major industries, one is factory logistics, that is, in-factory logistics for manufacturing, and the other is warehousing logistics, which is also called so-called large logistics. Manufacturing industry includes automobile manufacturing, lithium battery manufacturing, daily chemical, food, pharmaceuticals, etc. We will all be involved; the logistics industry includes e-commerce logistics, offline retail logistics, third-party logistics and other scenarios.


 


Reporter: How about ease of use?


Li Luyang: We try to lower the technical threshold so that our partners, such as integrators, middlemen, forklift leasing companies, and even customer site equipment commissioning personnel, can complete the commissioning work. We are still working on this and hope to achieve it in the next two years. We plan to complete the unmanned transformation of 3 million vehicles in the next 5 years, with a scale of 600,000 vehicles per year. In terms of scale, this is a medium-sized market, but this market is not ordinary because it is a just-demand market ... With the disappearance of China's demographic dividend, from the demand side, more and more companies choose robots instead of humans. Complete intensive, high-intensity work. Our team has been engaged in low-speed vehicle unmanned technology (research and development) under natural environment since its establishment, that is, to achieve unmanned driving in scenarios below 20KM per hour. Regardless of market demand or our technical applicability, the unmanned transformation of industrial vehicles is a very good market.


 


Reporter: How did the transformed unmanned vehicle perform machine learning?


Li Luyang: First of all, in terms of learning after entering the field, after the self-driving car enters the field, it will use visual information to first build an environmental map. Through the environmental map and visual recognition, you can identify the main feature information in the environment, such as the main road , Shelves, cargo connection area, charging area, etc. After that, the vehicle will visually capture the information, such as the information of each storage location, the classification information of the goods, and the human-computer interaction information, and repeatedly compare with the information in the database to continuously learn the details.


 


Reporter: Can you talk about the composition of our R & D team?


Li Luyang: At present, there are nearly 100 people in our company, and 70% of them are R & D personnel, of which 20% are doctors. Our R & D team is mainly a PhD from the University of Tokyo and a PhD from the Chinese University of Hong Kong. This is also our founding team. Professor Liu Yunhui of the Chinese University of Hong Kong is both the founder and technology leader of our company.


 


Reporter: What do you think of the influence of interdisciplinary science in the field of robotics?


Li Luyang: Our company is in the A round. It is led by Zhongding Capital. Here I need to quote a total sentence from our investor director Tang Tao: The most accessible thing in the world is rigorous logical reasoning, and the rarest thing. It is innovative thinking and ideas introduced from other fields. So I think that the introduction of cross-disciplinary thinking is the driving force for a major innovation breakthrough in an industry. The core and major difficult problems must not be solved by the knowledge of the industry, but must be solved by other stones. In my opinion, interdisciplinarity is very important.


Li Luyang: Finally, thank you for the invitation of the conference. The World Robot Conference has been developing for 5 years, and each year has a major breakthrough. Robots in the future are honored to join such a platform. Thank you! Our booth is at Hall E 204. Welcome everyone to visit!



The full link of the live broadcast room http://cloud.quklive.com/cloud/h5/1566399411919743?from=timeline


Hot trends
Related articles

他来了!|未来机器人CEO李陆洋博士做客2019世界机器人大会媒体直播间

2019-08-22 18:00:00   责任编辑:     0


2019年8月22日,未来机器人联合创始人兼CEO李陆洋博士受邀做客百度x中国科技网媒体直播间。在接受记者专访时,这位未来机器人年轻的掌门人就工业无人驾驶技术的通用型和易用性、机器自主学习、视觉导航技术的应用情况、无人化升级改造的市场前景以及交叉学科对机器人行业的意义进行了一一解答,表示“工业车辆无人化改造是非常迫切的刚需市场”。 

 



以下是采访实录:


记者:您可以和大家打个招呼。

李陆洋:各位网友大家好,我是未来机器人的李陆洋。未来机器人于2016年成立于深圳,是深圳市、包括盐田区的重点扶持企业,公司核心业务是工业车辆的无人驾驶平台。所以我们的核心是将客户现场的,如叉车、牵引车、包括港机,通过视觉技术实现无人化改造,最终达到减人增效的作用。 

 

记者:可以具体说说是怎么改造的么?

李陆洋:未来机器人的核心是两点,第一,我们可以改造客户现场的旧(工业)车,所以其实我们更多的是不提供车辆,而是将客户现场的人工叉车实现无人化改造;第二,我们的核心技术是采用视觉(导航),我们团队从2011年开始研发核心技术,主要工作是将视觉(技术)与机器人运动相结合,顾名思义就是用视觉控制机器人的感知和导航工作,最终实现无人驾驶。简单来说,咱们通过给旧车辆提供视觉,就可以完成无人化改造升级。 

 

记者:无人化改造的技术难点在哪里?

李陆洋:核心有两点,第一点是通用性,就是说如何让视觉能够完成机器人底层控制的信号输入,或者信息输入,最终实现不同品类车的无人化改造。能够改造的车越多,市场广度越大;第二点是易用性,我们的车到达客户现场,多长时间能够完成调试、可否由客户自己完成调试、可否让客户承担部分维护工作,这就是易用性。通用型和车的视觉控制相关,易用性和车的感知相关。 

 

记者:我们技术目前的通用性如何?

李陆洋:我们现在可以改造6大品牌工180多款的人工叉车和牵引车,基本上涵盖了市面上所有的电动和部分内燃的车型。李陆洋:目前我们的技术主要应用在2个大行业,一个是工厂物流,即制造业的厂内物流,另一个是仓储物流,也就是所谓的大物流。制造业包括汽车制造、锂电制造、日化、食品、制药等,我们都会涉及;物流业包括电商物流、线下零售物流、第三方物流等场景我们都有所涵盖。 

 

记者:易用性方面表现如何呢?

李陆洋:我们试图将技术门槛放低,让我们的合作伙伴,比如集成商、中间商、叉车租赁公司,甚至客户现场的设备调试人员,能够完成调试工作。这方面我们还在努力当中,希望在未来两年实现。我们计划未来5年完成300万台车辆无人化改造,每年60万台的规模。从规模上看,这是一个中等规模市场,但这个市场不一般,因为它是一个刚需市场……随着中国人口红利的消失,从需求方看,越来越多的企业选择机器人来代替人工完成密集、高强度的工作。我们团队从成立起到现在,一直从事自然环境下的低速车辆无人驾驶技术(研发),即在每小时20KM以下的场景中实现无人驾驶。无论从市场需求还是我们的技术适用性方面来看,工业车辆无人化改造都是非常好的市场。

 

记者:改造过的无人车辆是如何进行机器学习的?

李陆洋:首先,从进场之后的学习来讲,无人车进场之后会利用视觉信息先建立环境地图,通过环境地图以及视觉的识别,可以识别出环境中主要的特征信息,比方说主干道、货架、货物接驳区、充电区等。之后,车辆将由视觉捕获的信息,比如每个库位的信息、货物的分类信息、人机的交互信息,与数据库中的信息进行反复比对,不断地进行细节学习。 

 

记者:可以说说咱们的研发团队组成么?

李陆洋:目前我们公司近百人,研发人员占比70%,其中博士比例20%。我们的研发团队主要是东京大学的博士和香港中文大学的博士,这也是我们的创始团队,香港中文大学刘云辉教授既是我们公司的创始人,也是技术带头人。

 

记者:您怎么看待交叉学科在机器人领域的影响?

李陆洋:我们公司是A轮是由中鼎资本领头的,在这里我需要引用咱们的投资人董事湯涛总的一句话:人世间最易得的是严谨逻辑推理出来的东西,而最难得的是从其他领域引入的创新性的思维和想法。所以我认为,交叉学科的思维引入是对一个行业重大创新突破的推动力。核心的、重大的难点问题一定不是本行业的知识能都解决的,一定是通过他山之石解决本行业的问题。在我看来,交叉学科十分重要。 

李陆洋:最后,感谢大会的邀约,世界机器人大会发展5年了,每一年都有重大的突破,未来机器人非常荣幸可以加入这样的一个平台,感谢!我们的展位在E馆204,欢迎大家来参观! 


直播间全程链接http://cloud.quklive.com/cloud/h5/1566399411919743?from=timeline